122 Followers
360 Following
Nikole

The Nearly Reader

My life in (mostly) books

Let's Pretend This Never Happened

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir - Jenny Lawson

From Good Reads: For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
 
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

 

 

This memoir has been on my radar since it was released several years ago...but somehow I never got around to reading it. Or Jenny Lawson's blog (why, don't ask)-but with a title and cover like that, I knew that it was going to be a hoot.

 

 

And it was a hoot. Mostly. Sometimes it was heartbreaking...like really really heartbreaking when all I wanted to do was close the book and go hibernate underneath the blankets in bed for about a year.

 

 

 

 

Mostly though, I laughed a lot...many times out loud, not even caring if I was overheard. One particular chapter made me laugh so hard that my husband nearly charged into the bathroom to make sure I was okay and I didn't fall into the bowl or anything like that. 

 

 

Jenny threatens promises the reader with a second book and I really really hope that she delivers on her promise as I would totally be into reading a second book about Jenny Lawson's misadventures.

 

In the meantime, I suppose I could finally get around to reading her blog.